Design Engineering

Canada’s top scientists and engineers announced

By Design Engineering staff   

General awards NSERC

NSERC awards celebrate trailblazing astrophysics, a game-changing ancient waters discovery and a healthcare delivery breakthrough.

The Governor General of Canada recognized Canada’s top researchers in the fields of natural sciences and engineering in an official ceremony on February 16, 2016 at Rideau Hall.

The event celebrated trailblazing astrophysics, a game-changing discovery of ancient waters, and a breakthrough that will transform healthcare delivery.

The Right Honourable David Johnston was joined by the Honourable Dr. Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, and Dr. B. Mario Pinto, President of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), in presenting six prestigious prizes.

The Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering went to McGill University astrophysicist, Dr. Victoria M. Kapsi. Dr. Kaspi is one of the world’s leading experts on neutron stars, the ancient remnants of the most massive stars in the Milky Way. Her research group has had major impacts in the field of astrophysics, and her seminal work sheds light on how stars evolve, how they die and, ultimately, the very nature of matter under extreme conditions.

Dr. Victoria M. Kapsi,

Dr. Victoria M. Kapsi, McGill University astrophysicist and recipient of the Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. (Courtesy of MCpl Vincent Carbonneau, Rideau Hall © OSGG, 2015)

Awards for outstanding university-industry partnerships, ground-breaking discoveries, excellence in multidisciplinary research, and fellowships to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers were also announced.

The work of these researchers is enhancing crop productivity while achieving significant energy and water savings, developing breakthrough medical diagnostic platforms, improving forest resilience to insect pests, harnessing light and fluids to reduce CO2 emissions, and expanding the understanding of energy-producing chemical reactions that sustain deep microbial life.

This year’s recipients represent a diversified group across many disciplines and sectors. They serve as an inspiration to young Canadians. The ceremony celebrates the outstanding achievements of recipients who received six NSERC prizes totaling $3.71 million.

NSERC Award Recipients

Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering

Victoria M. Kaspi, McGill University

NSERC John C. Polanyi Award

Barbara Sherwood Lollar, University of Toronto

The Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Shana Kelley, University of Toronto

Edward H. Sargent, University of Toronto

NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research

Yasser Gidi, McGill University

Synergy Awards for Innovation

Category 1: Small- and Medium-sized Companies

Emil M. Petriu, University of Ottawa

Industrial partner: Rami Abielmona, Larus Technologies Corp.

Category 2: Large Companies

David Miller, Carleton University

Industrial partner: Greg Adams, J.D. Irving, Limited

Category 3: Two or More Companies

Jean Caron, Université Laval

Industrial partners: Jean-Paul Guérin, Maraîchers J.P.L. Guérin et fils inc.

Daniel Malenfant, Vert Nature inc.

Denys Van Winden, Production horticole Van Winden inc.

Jean-Bernard Van Winden, Les fermes Hotte et Van Winden inc.

Stéphane Van Winden, Delfland inc.

Category 4: Colleges

Neil Cooke, Red River College

Ray Hoemsen, Red River College

Jose Rizalino M. Delos Reyes, Red River College

Shokry Rashwan, Red River College

Rob Spewak, Red River College

Industrial partner, Lloyd Kuczek, Manitoba Hydro


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories