Design Engineering

Actuator Control Valve

By Design Engineering Staff   

Fluid Power actuator control valve

Midland-ACS SIL3 valve helps systems builders meet IEC 61508 & 61511 safety standards.

Grimsby, Ontario — Midland-ACS announced that a range of its actuator control valve products have undergone third-party assessment to the IEC 61508 functional safety standard, and are now certified to support SIL3 capability. The first tranche of products to receive SIL3 capability status include direct-acting solenoid and pilot operated poppet valves; pilot operated spool valves; and a number of pilot operated and direct-acting solenoid hydraulic valves.

For example, all variants of Midland-ACS’ 70 Series direct-acting solenoid 3/2 poppet valves are now certified. Offering a choice of 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch ports, these valves are designed primarily for actuator control using pneumatic or low-pressure hydraulic media. Two types of solenoid are available, certified to protection classes EExd IIC T6 and T4.

In addition, a number of 3/2 body ported poppet valves from Midland-ACS’ 1750 series – as well as 1500 and 1600 series pilot operated 3/2 spool valves — now support SIL3 capability. Certified 1750 series models include standard temperature service (-20 to 180 degrees Celsius) valves with Viton seals, spanning port sizes from 1/4 to 1-1/2 inches, as well as 2- and 3-inch port size valves with Nitrile seals. The 1500 and 1600 series are also Viton-sealed valves and offer a choice of 1/4 and 1/2 inch port sizes.

Many Midland-ACS hydraulic valves are also certified for SIL3 capability. These include the DN5, DN10 and DN15 series pilot-operated valves, as well as the DN3 Series direct-acting solenoid valves. All these designs feature an integral balanced piloting system that enables the low-powered solenoid to switch the valve at high pressures. The DN5, 10 and 15 Series products have metal-to-metal seats, while the DN3 Series employs a ceramic ball and a stainless steel seat. The SIL3 capable version of the DN3 offers a stay-put manual override facility, and is available certified for protection classes ExD IIC T6 and T5.



Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories