Design Engineering

AIAC names 2014 James C. Floyd Award Recipients

Dave Caddey and Ron Holdway recognized for contributions to Canadian aerospace industry.

November 20, 2014   by Design Engineering staff

COM DEV's Ron Holdway (right) and Dave Caddey of McDonald Detwiler and Associates, named co-recipients of the AIAC's 2014 James C. Floyd Award

COM DEV’s Ron Holdway (right) and Dave Caddey of McDonald Detwiler and Associates, named co-recipients of the AIAC’s 2014 James C. Floyd Award

At the annual Canadian Aerospace Summit, the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) awarded the the 2014 James C. Floyd Award to Ron Holdway and Dave Caddey for their contribution in the development of Canada’s space industry.

As the face of COM DEV for 25 years, Ron Holdway joined the company in 1989 to open its Ottawa office as Manager of Government Business. In 1999, he moved to the position of General Manager and Vice President of the Company’s Wireless Systems Group. He returned to COM DEV International in 2000 to assume the newly created position of Vice President Corporate Communications. Subsequently, he became Vice President of Government Relations.

Retired from McDonald Detwiler and Associates, Dave Caddey joined MDA in 1986 as the Project Manager of all Major Programs and held numerous positions in the company during his time at MDA. He was appointed as the Vice-President and General Manager of the company’s Geo-information Systems division in 1989 and in 1994 took on the same role for the Space and Defense Systems Division. In 1998, Caddey became the Program Manager for RADARSAT-2 and in May 1999, became Executive Vice-President and later Group President of the Space Missions Group formed following MDA’s acquisition of Spar Aerospace’s Robotics Division. In August 2012, he assumed the role of Executive Vice President and General Manager of MDA’s Surveillance and Intelligence group.

Both recipients are long-standing members of AIAC’s Board of Directors and helped create a Space Committee has become the voice of the space industry in Canada.


Established in 2009 in honour of the chief engineer on the Avro Arrow project, AIAC’s James C. Floyd Award for aerospace achievement is an annual award that honours exceptional contributions to the Canadian aerospace sector.

Print this page

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *